Rhiannon 2
2 min|Rhiannon Lytle

Are You Gluten Sensitive? Here's What You Should Be Avoiding

Wellness, Nutrition, Health, Education
Whatever the reason, you have decided to take the plunge to go gluten-free or reduce your intake of gluten containing foods. If you have been following a gluten-free diet for more than one week, you may have noticed how many hidden sources of gluten exist!

To help you on your journey, here is an extensive list on the types of foods to avoid if you are gluten free. This is especially important if you are celiac, as symptoms may flare up with an accidental dosing of gluten.

Before you dive into this list, be sure to read these blogs to learn how you diagnose celiac’s disease and what your typical treatment options include.

What can’t you eat when you are gluten-free?

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt
  • Brewers Yeast
  • Oats (unless specified gluten-free)
  • Wheat berries
  • Semolina 
  • Spelt
  • Farina
  • Graham
  • Durum
  • Emmer
  • Faro
  • Khorasan
  • Udon
  • Einkorn
The foods listed above are typically found in:
  • Breads
  • Pizza dough
  • Pasta
  • Baked goods
  • Granola and granola bars
  • Grain-based cereals
  • Vegetarian meat alternatives, which use seitan (gluten)
  • Store bought or restaurant French fries
  • Beer
Where you should check the label:
  • Soy sauce
  • Pre-packaged gravy
  • Canned Soups
  • Pre-packaged sauces and spice blends
  • Flavoured potato chips (many brands now will label themselves gluten-free)
  • Salad dressings
  • Deli/processed meat
  • Instant Coffee
  • Pudding
  • Liquorice 
  • Mustard
  • Granola bars
  • Packaged meat products (like frozen hamburgers)
  • Restaurant eggs
  • Flavoured ice creams
Sneaky ingredients that may make a product not gluten-free (even if the rest looks like it is):
  • Starch
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Textured vegetable protein
  • Dextrin
  • Maltodextrin
  • Glucose syrup
  • Caramel
  • Mal flavouring
  • Malt extract
  • Malt vinegar
  • Brown rice syrup
*List adapted from Cleveland Clinic

Not sure where to start or need help building out your gluten-free lifestyle? Chat with our Registered Holistic Nutritionist


Rhiannon 2

Rhiannon Lytle

Rhiannon is the Registered Holistic Nutritionist at Integrative. She has a passion for making healthy eating easy, accessible and fun, loves getting outside, and enjoys spending time with her dog, Chloe!

Learn More