Avoiding Wheat and Gluten

Download PDF

Gluten Grains:

  • Barley
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farro
  • Kamut
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat (common, hard/Abyssinian, soft, oriental, Persian, poulard, polish)

 

Gluten Flours:

  • Atta flour
  • Barley flour
  • Bleached flour
  • Bread flour
  • Enriched flour
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut flour
  • Maida
  • Malted barley flour
  • Rye flour
  • Spelt flour
  • Unbleached flour
  • Wheat flours

 

Gluten Grain Products:

  • Alcohols (beer, bourbon, whiskey, etc.)
  • Barley malt (sometimes labeled as malt, malt extract or malt syrup)
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Germ
  • Gluten (wheat or vital wheat)
  • Matza/matzah/matzo
  • Orzo
  • Pasta
  • Pearl barley
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Starch
  • Tabouli

 

Gluten Flours:

  • Deli meats
  • Canned soups
  • Salad dressings
  • Cereals
  • Crackers

 

Ingredients Likely to Contain Gluten:

  • Artificial color
  • Baking powder
  • Clarifying agents
  • Coloring
  • Dry roasted nuts (may have coatings or produced on machinery with gluten items)
  • Emulsifiers
  • Fat replacer
  • Ground spices and seasonings (may use wheat flour as an anti-caking agent)
  • Imitation seafood
  • Miso (often contains barley malt enzymes)
  • Natural juices/juice drinks (may contain barley ingredients)
  • Non-dairy creamer
  • Pre=gelatinized starch
  • Protein hydrosolates
  • Soba noodles
  • Soy sauce
  • Stabilizers
  • Soup stock cubes
  • Suet
  • Tocopherols (often derived from wheat germ oil)
  • Vegetable broth
  • Vegetable gum
  • Vegetable protein
  • Vegetable starch
  • Vitamins (especially chewable varieties)
  • Yeast extract (autolyzed yeast extract)

 

NOTE – really, any packaged or processed food not labeled gluten free could potentially contain gluten; take time to read labels to avoid unwanted exposure.

 

 


Get the Latest from Integrative, Delivered

Semi-monthly content, directly from our team, straight to your inbox.